



Olga Hugelmeyer Superintendent of Schools Antonio DiFonzo Principal Marlene Oliva-Hasegawa Vice Principal

Dear Madison - Monroe School No. 16 Community,

The Governor's Educator of the Year Program highlights educational innovation, student achievement, exemplary teaching, and important services outside the classroom environment that lead to student success. This celebratory program recognizes our state's best teachers and educational services professionals who will be recognized at the Union County Office of Education.

We are proud to announce that the 2019 Governor's Teacher of the Year for Madison – Monroe School No. 16 was awarded to Mr. Andrew Kaplan. Mr. Kaplan has educated the students and staff at Madison – Monroe School No. 16 for the past 5 years and has been a teacher at Elizabeth Public Schools for the past 17 years. Mr. Kaplan offers his students opportunities to explore Mathematics through real word problem solving and is able to offer feedback instantaneously through a technology based system. Mr. Kaplan has filtered this knowledge to our staff offering his services to teachers whenever available. He has created a positive and nurturing environment both in the classroom and for the entire School No. 16 family.

This year's Educational Service Provider of the Year for Madison – Monroe School No. 16 was awarded to Mrs. Mafalda Taborda. Mrs. Taborda began working for Elizabeth Public School in 1987 as a lunchroom assistant. She worked her way to become a paraprofessional where her priority has been giving her students all her patience, love, dedication, and support. She describes her journey here in the United States and at Elizabeth Public Schools as an American Dream. We are so proud to have such an example of hard work, dedication, and perseverance here at School No. 16.

Please join us in celebrating these two amazing professionals for the work they have done, and continue to do, for our school community and district.

Sincerely,

Antonio DiFonzo

Madison Monroe School No. 16 Celebrating over 100 Years of Excellence